first_img Click to view the privacy policy. Required fields are indicated by an asterisk (*) One reason why Johnson may have escaped the ax is that science minister is a relatively low-profile position in the government. Another possibility, Main says, is that Parliament is deliberating over a higher education reform bill. Johnson was a lead author and advocate for this bill, which is intended to improve the evaluation of teaching and make other changes to universities. The bill would also restructure the research councils, which provide peer-reviewed grants.  Email Johnson, who has been in the job for a year, will now report to both departments. Main says that the split brief makes the best of the situation, because Johnson will be able to advocate for keeping the research and university sectors well connected. The Russell Group, an association of 24 research universities in the United Kingdom, also hopes the two departments will work together cheek to cheek. “[S]cience and research are fundamental functions of our universities and one of our key objectives is to ensure that research informs teaching and vice-versa,” Wendy Piatt, director of the Russell Group in London, wrote in a statement. Sign up for our daily newsletter Get more great content like this delivered right to you! Country Country * Afghanistan Aland Islands Albania Algeria Andorra Angola Anguilla Antarctica Antigua and Barbuda Argentina Armenia Aruba Australia Austria Azerbaijan Bahamas Bahrain Bangladesh Barbados Belarus Belgium Belize Benin Bermuda Bhutan Bolivia, Plurinational State of Bonaire, Sint Eustatius and Saba Bosnia and Herzegovina Botswana Bouvet Island Brazil British Indian Ocean Territory Brunei Darussalam Bulgaria Burkina Faso Burundi Cambodia Cameroon Canada Cape Verde Cayman Islands Central African Republic Chad Chile China Christmas Island Cocos (Keeling) Islands Colombia Comoros Congo Congo, the Democratic Republic of the Cook Islands Costa Rica Cote d’Ivoire Croatia Cuba Curaçao Cyprus Czech Republic Denmark Djibouti Dominica Dominican Republic Ecuador Egypt El Salvador Equatorial Guinea Eritrea Estonia Ethiopia Falkland Islands (Malvinas) Faroe Islands Fiji Finland France French Guiana French Polynesia French Southern Territories Gabon Gambia Georgia Germany Ghana Gibraltar Greece Greenland Grenada Guadeloupe Guatemala Guernsey Guinea Guinea-Bissau Guyana Haiti Heard Island and McDonald Islands Holy See (Vatican City State) Honduras Hungary Iceland India Indonesia Iran, Islamic Republic of Iraq Ireland Isle of Man Israel Italy Jamaica Japan Jersey Jordan Kazakhstan Kenya Kiribati Korea, Democratic People’s Republic of Korea, Republic of Kuwait Kyrgyzstan Lao People’s Democratic Republic Latvia Lebanon Lesotho Liberia Libyan Arab Jamahiriya Liechtenstein Lithuania Luxembourg Macao Macedonia, the former Yugoslav Republic of Madagascar Malawi Malaysia Maldives Mali Malta Martinique Mauritania Mauritius Mayotte Mexico Moldova, Republic of Monaco Mongolia Montenegro Montserrat Morocco Mozambique Myanmar Namibia Nauru Nepal Netherlands New Caledonia New Zealand Nicaragua Niger Nigeria Niue Norfolk Island Norway Oman Pakistan Palestine Panama Papua New Guinea Paraguay Peru Philippines Pitcairn Poland Portugal Qatar Reunion Romania Russian Federation Rwanda Saint Barthélemy Saint Helena, Ascension and Tristan da Cunha Saint Kitts and Nevis Saint Lucia Saint Martin (French part) Saint Pierre and Miquelon Saint Vincent and the Grenadines Samoa San Marino Sao Tome and Principe Saudi Arabia Senegal Serbia Seychelles Sierra Leone Singapore Sint Maarten (Dutch part) Slovakia Slovenia Solomon Islands Somalia South Africa South Georgia and the South Sandwich Islands South Sudan Spain Sri Lanka Sudan Suriname Svalbard and Jan Mayen Swaziland Sweden Switzerland Syrian Arab Republic Taiwan Tajikistan Tanzania, United Republic of Thailand Timor-Leste Togo Tokelau Tonga Trinidad and Tobago Tunisia Turkey Turkmenistan Turks and Caicos Islands Tuvalu Uganda Ukraine United Arab Emirates United Kingdom United States Uruguay Uzbekistan Vanuatu Venezuela, Bolivarian Republic of Vietnam Virgin Islands, British Wallis and Futuna Western Sahara Yemen Zambia Zimbabwe For researchers worried about the future of science in the United Kingdom, the news was something to hold onto. Late on Friday, Jo Johnson announced he will remain as science minister, despite a massive shakeup of the government cabinet. “I’m happy he’s kept the same job,” says Sarah Main, director of the advocacy group Campaign for Science and Engineering in London. “It’s good for continuity.” It’s not exactly the same job, and it may have become harder, because Johnson will have two bosses—one for research and one for universities—in the new government. Main and other lobbyists say it will be crucial to keep these two sectors closely linked as the United Kingdom slowly figures out what last month’s referendum to leave the European Union means for its future.Theresa May became prime minister after the vote for a Brexit, which has created great uncertainty about research in the United Kingdom. The tumult continued last week as a raft of senior ministers were fired and hired. As part of the major reshuffling, May separated science and higher education into two departments. (The university portfolio has moved into the Department of Education, while the research portfolio remains part of what has been renamed the Department for Business, Energy and Industrial Strategy.)last_img